135 Days Old – No More CO2 Monitor!

Day 136 – June 18, 2015

No more CO2 monitor! My numbers have been basically the same for the past week or so, so they decided today that they no longer needed to monitor them, especially since I will be going home soon. The also turned my oxygen down to ½ L/min this morning, but I am not too sure about that yet, my oxygen saturation is bouncing up and down quite a bit. My doctor came and talked with Mommy and let her know that my MRI results were good, they didn’t see anything they weren’t expecting to. They had noted on my previous head ultrasounds that I had slightly enlarged ventricles (where the cerebrospinal fluid is made) and an absent septum pellucidum (the membrane that separates the ventricles). This can be something that is just an anomaly, or it can be an indicator of a condition called Septo-optic dysplasia and this is what they were looking for on the MRI. It can cause issues with the optic nerves and also some of the other structures along the midline of the brain. They did not see anything further that would indicate that I have this condition so for now they will just keep an eye on my development and make sure everything continues in the right direction.

I am due for another vaccination today, but my nurse said that they will wait until later in the day when Mommy has gone to work. I tried to nurse this morning, but was so tired that they had to use my feeding tube for that feeding. I did take two whole bottles overnight though and only needed to be fed through my feeding tube once because I was sleeping still. This is good progress especially with everything that they have done with me the past couple of days. My developmental therapist is going to come next time it is time for me to nurse and they are going to weigh me before and after to make sure I am getting enough.

I am still all over the place for my oxygen saturation this afternoon so while I was nursing they turned it back up a bit and I did much better. When they weighed me after I nursed I gained almost 80 grams, which is a huge amount, so they are all very happy.

When Papa got here this evening I was hooked up to a bunch of monitors and there were a couple of my nurses in the room with me. They were happy and laughing though and it turns out they were trying to test my hearing. They put things over my ears and stuck to the top of my head and did some stuff and apparently I passed. One more step to going home passed. After that it was time for me to eat and I took a bottle for Papa! I also gained a bit of weight back today so I am at 8 pounds, 1.6 ounces, but they will continue to keep an eye on that. I am 135 days old today!136-1

Leave a comment